+265 1 794 233

The Performance Contracts are signed between the Controlling Officers of MDAs and the Chief Secretary to the Government with endorsement from His Excellency the State President.

Each Performance Contract has six sections and sets out key precepts, including the commitments by the signing parties. Each contract has six categories with associated performance indicators and targets, weights as well as a scoring scale. The six categories include the following:

i. Finance and Stewardship 

This category assesses the performance of MDAs on proper utilization of resources, efficient use and allocation of resources, development investment levels, and revenue generation levels. 

ii. Service Delivery

This mainly focuses on making the public sector accountable to the general public through adoption and implementation of Citizens’ Service Charters/Service Level Agreements. The Citizens’ Service Charter is a statement published by a public agency that provides the essential information that citizens and stakeholders need to know about the services or functions of MDAs and what they need to do or have to access the services and the manner in which they can seek redress if not satisfied. 

The charter provides the essential inter-face between the MDAs and the public. It ensures that the general public is aware of the services provided and commitments made by the MDAs. In the process the public is able to monitor and rate the level and quality of public service through citizens’ service delivery surveys, feedbacks using various channels such as online platforms, suggestion boxes or citizens’ feedback forms. 

Overall, the charters enhance access to service; responsiveness of the service; quality of the service; timeliness; courtesy; affordability; secure better value for money; and create accountability in service provision. 

iii. Non-Financial 

This category addresses standards that have direct bearing on financial outcomes but which cannot be directly quantified in monetary form. 

MDAs are therefore assessed on, among others, the implementation of their strategic plans which are in line with the MGDS; compliance with statutory obligations; acquiring ISO certification especially ISO 9001 which hinges on quality management principles; developing capacities and competencies of their officers and carrying out individual performance assessments; and ensuring that all procurements are done in accordance with set rules and regulations.

  iv. Operations

The operations category is one of the most important among the six categories because it links to the implementation of the MDAs mandate and core functions. In the same vein, it focuses on achievement of key result areas and aligns outcome indicators to the strategic objectives as stipulated under Part I of the Performance Contract. It also emphasizes on the achievement of the targets as set out in the MDA’s Strategic Plans as well as the MGDS and the Vision 2020. 

Additionally, the category ensures that any perceived collaboration and cooperation between or among MDAs on any flagship program or project is spelt out in advance before implementation of the programs start. Assessment under this category involves measuring the extent to which MDAs have achieved and delivered on their mandate, core functions, key outcomes/results and other public service indicators in general signed for in the respective financial year. 

v. Dynamic/Qualitative

This category assesses a number of indicators pertaining to the smooth implementation of MDA’s operations. Amongst others, it focuses on having conducive work environments and ensuring that the welfare and mental wellbeing of employees is taken care of. Additionally, the category also involves the assessment of crosscutting issues such as gender and disability mainstreaming. These two ensures that public services is provided without discrimination and favoritism. 

Further, MDAs are also assessed on areas of research and development where they are supposed to continuously find effective and efficient ways to improve their service provision to the general public. 

vi. Corruption Eradication

This category involves only one indicator and that is corruption eradication. The category aims to combat and prevent corruption, unethical practices and promote standards and best practices in governance. It was made a stand-alone category because of the importance of the fight against corruption and the effect that it has on derailing economic growth and eroding society values. MDAs are assessed on the level of their fight against corruption and preventive measures undertaken to combat corruption.


"Results-Oriented Performance for National Development "

To provide an efficient and effective oversight, coordination and supervision of results-oriented performance delivery systems to all MDAs.

  • Professionalism
  • Transparency & Accountability
  • Integrity
  • Adaptive and dynamic
  • Team work
  • Discipline